back to top


Format: CD
Label: Ditty Boom Records
Rel. Date: 05/21/2021
UPC: 877746003202

Happy Again
Artist: Bill & The Belles
Format: CD


1. Happy Again (I'll Never Be)
2. Make It Look Easy
3. Taking Back My Yesterday
4. That'll Be Just Fine
5. The Corn Shuckin' Song
6. Bye Bye Bill
7. People Gonna Talk
8. Blue So Blue
9. Sobbin' the Blues
10. Get Up and Give It One More Try
11. Good Friends Are Hard to Find

More Info:

Happy Again' isn't exactly happy. But the delightfully deadpan new album from roots mainstays Bill and the Belles is full of life, humor, and tongue-in-cheek explorations of love and loss. 'Happy Again' marks a new chapter for the group by featuring all original music penned by founding member Kris Truelsen. There's no dancing around it: this album is about his divorce. However, this personal loss turned out to be a creative boon for the band. Over eleven tracks the group shows their knack for saying sad things with a bit of a smirk: the title track is a sarcastic laundry list of existential woes, while "People Gonna Talk" profiles some of the frustrations of small-town living. "Make It Look Easy" is both an anthem for apathy and a proper "get lost" to those who've got something to say about your life choices. Tucked amongst the grief and jubilation are some jingle-worthy oddballs for which the band is well known. This raw songcraft along with the deft production touch of Teddy Thompson, who encouraged using only first or second takes, gives 'Happy Again' an emotional punch that deepens with each listen.