Format: CD
Rel. Date: 09/17/2021
UPC: 720665664316

Artist: Greg Cordez
Format: CD


1. Down Quark
2. Front Crawl
3. Let Me Begin Again
4. Emily
5. Drift
6. Paper Cranes
7. Company Milk
8. All That Is (PT 2)

More Info:

UK based composer and bass player Greg Cordez releases his third album "Magnolia" through the Ropeadope label in 2021 which is the follow-up to the acclaimed "Last Things Last" featured as an editor's choice in Downbeat magazine. Magnolia reunites Cordez with Steve Cardenas on guitar and includes a stellar cast of New York City-based musicians - Jon Cowherd on piano/keys, Tony Malaby on saxophones, Kenny Wollesen on drums. Magnolia was an album written in transit and reflects time spent in a gatehouse on the foot of the Brecon Beacons in Wales, the inspiration and chaos of Bed-Stuy, Brooklyn, and an extended stay in Reykjavik, Iceland. Each place greatly influences the music and narratives contained within. Returning to Bunker Studios in early February 2020 to work with Aaron Nevize. With guidance from Chris Lightcap, the album builds on the lessons learnt from Last Things Last and explores the themes of recalibration, grief, and the letting go required to move into a new phase of life.