Format: CD
Rel. Date: 08/27/2021
UPC: 708535700326

Wild Exciting Sounds Of Marshall Crenshaw: Live
Artist: Marshall Crenshaw
Format: CD


1. Monday Morning Rock
2. Try
3. Brand New Lover
4. There She Goes
5. Something's Gonna Happen
6. Here I Am
7. Whenever You're on My Mind
8. Mary Anne
9. A Big Hunk O' Love
10. Rockin' Around in NYC
11. I'll Do Anything
12. Our Town
13. Cynical Girl
14. Got a Lot O' Livin' to Do
15. Someday, Someway
16. What Time Is It?
17. Passing Through
18. Something's Gonna Happen
19. Walkin' Around
20. Kit Kat Clock
21. Live and Learn
22. What Do You Dream Of?
23. I Don't See You Laughing Now
24. Calling Out for Love (At Crying Time)
25. Television Light
26. Valerie

More Info:

Previously Unreleased live Recordings, selected by MC himself - includes performances with the Bottle Rockets. Whether you've been a Marshall Crenshaw fan for 40 years or know little beyond "Someday, Someway," you're in for a treat. The CD set you're holding is a two-disc live retrospective of his work from the early '80s to date, and it shows off the singer-songwriter's depth and breadth as a songwriter and performer. Disc one, recorded in 1983, is filled with performances from syndicated radio shows and focuses largely on songs from his self-titled debut album and the follow-up, Field Day. Disc two, which Crenshaw curated himself, is a sampler of his work from the last 25 years, featuring live versions of songs that appeared on many different albums and EPs. What the songs have in common are tautness, precision and melody - hallmarks of Crenshaw's songwriting as well as the songs he chooses to cover. So you'll be surprised to know that Crenshaw calls himself "a reluctant songwriter" and considers songs "a means to an end" and "a vehicle for performance."