back to top


Format: Vinyl
Rel. Date: 05/28/2021
UPC: 676499215661

Midnight Rock's Secret Tapes / Various [Limited Edition]
Artist: Midnight Rock's Secret Tapes / Various (Ltd)
Format: Vinyl


1. I Can Be Your Man - Linval Thompson
2. Good Thing Goin'on - Luciano
3. Hey Sexy Lady - Courtney Melody
4. I Love to Smoke - Gryphan
5. Sounds a Go Dead Tonight - Jah
6. Thomas ; Juniorvibes
7. All a the Gal Them - Pinchers ; Jose Wale
8. Me Glad She Gone - Super Cat
9. Drunk and Stage -Jah Thomas
10. Since I Laid Eyes on You - Daville
11. Love Songs Are Back Again (Adopted Song) - Tony Curtis, Ghost; Mitch

More Info:

When Nkrumah Jah Thomas hit No.1 on the Jamaican charts in 1976 with his debut single "Midnight Rock" on Alvin Ranglin's GG label, it gave the new DJ a theme song and an entry into the world of music. Within 3 years he had launched his own label, Midnight Rock, and alongside more music under his own name he produced a series of classics by the likes of Tristan Palmer, Anthony Johnson, Early B and many more. In 1997 he signed a deal with Acid Jazz's Roots label and through that ongoing collaboration, his career as a producer has been anthologized and developed. Last year, to celebrate 40 year of Midnight Rock, Thomas went back into his tape archive to unearth another 10 tracks.