back to top


Format: CD
Label: CMSN
Rel. Date: 02/19/2021
UPC: 654378068829

Artist: Nilsson
Format: CD


1. Everybody's Talkin' [From "Midnight Cowboy"]
2. One
3. Ten Little Indians
4. 1941
5. Cuddly Toy
6. She Sang Hymns Out Of Tune
7. You Can't Do That
8. Without Her
9. Daddy's Song
10. Good Old Desk
11. The Puppy Song
12. I Guess The Lord Must Be In New York City
13. Rainmaker [single mix]
14. Simon Smith And His Amazing Dancing Bear
15. I Will Take You There [single mix]
16. Without You
17. Coconut
18. Gotta Get Up
19. Early In The Morning
20. Jump Into The Fire
21. Love Story
22. I'll Be Home
23. So Long Dad
24. Me And My Arrow
25. Think About Your Troubles
26. Life Line
27. Spaceman
28. Campo De Encino
29. Daybreak [single version]
30. Subterranean Homesick Blues
31. Save The Last Dance For Me
32. It Had To Be You
33. Always
34. Makin' Whoopee
35. What'll I Do
36. As Time Goes By
37. Over The Rainbow
38. Don't Forget Me
39. Kojak Columbo
40. Pretty Soon There'll Be Nothing Left For Everybody
41. Thursday Or, Here's Why I Did Not Go To Work Today
42. That Is All
43. Sail Away
44. All I Think About Is You
45. Perfect Day

More Info:

Three CDs. Harry Nilsson earned his place in music history not only as a songwriter but as matchless interpreter of other people's songs. His two signature songs were cover versions - Fred Neil's 'Everybody's Talkin' And Badfinger's 'Without You' - but his own compositions were covered by the Monkees, Glen Campbell, Blood Sweat & Tears, Three Dog Night and many more. Early composition 'One' was the soundtrack to a unison advert in 2011. 'Without You' was on his most successful album, Nilsson Schmilsson (1971), which also featured 'Coconut' and 'Gotta Get Up' (now played repeatedly in the Netflix series Russian Doll), both included here. He followed this with A Little Touch Of Schmilsson In The Night, an album of covers of standards like 'As Time Goes By', 'It Had To Be You' And 'Making' Whoopee' (with arrangements by Sinatra's arranger Gordon Jenkins), all included here. Produced by John Lennon, the Pussycats album saw Nilsson covering 'Subterranean Homesick Blues' and 'Save The Last Dance For Me'. He had already paid his respects to Randy Newman with a whole album of covers, but had hits with his own 'I Guess The Lord Must Be In New York City', 'I Will Take You There' And 'All I Think About Is You'.