back to top


Format: CD
Rel. Date: 04/16/2021
UPC: 604988320220

Slightly More Than Wonderful (Uk)
Artist: Martha Davis & Spouse
Format: CD


1. Two Sleepy People
2. Mine
3. You're Slightly Less Than Wonderful
4. I'm Gonna Sit Right Down and Write Myself a Letter
5. Keepin' Out of Mischief Now
6. Umbrella Man
7. You're Getting to Be a Habit with Me
8. Have You Ever Been Lonely?
9. Back Street (PD)
10. The Surrey with the Fringe on Top
11. Life Is So Peculiar
12. I Like the Likes of You
13. A Tribute to Fats Waller
14. Your Feets' Too Big
15. Jitterbug Waltz
16. Ain't Misbehavin'
17. It's a Sin to Tell a Lie
18. The Spider and the Fly
19. How Can You Face Me?
20. Honeysuckle Rose
21. Lulu's Back in Town
22. Blue Turning Grey Over You
23. Hold Tight (Want Some Seafood Mama)
24. Handful of Keys
25. S'posin'
26. * Bonus Transcriptions -
27. Goodbye, Honey, Goodbye (Live)
28. Vip-I-Ty Vip-I-Ty Vop (Live)
29. Martha's Boogie (Live)
30. We Just Couldn't Say Goodbye (Live)

More Info:

Martha Davis, often called a female Fats Waller, was one of the brightest pianist-singers of the 1930s and 40s, and was indeed trained by Waller himself. She didn't gain true stardom, however, until the early 1950s, when she married and partnered bassist Calvin Ponder, forming the new group Martha Davis and Spouse.

They became a sensation and their sold-out club appearances led to national TV exposure with Perry Como, Garry Moore and Steve Allen. Martha's infectious humour, boisterous singing style and powerful piano, reminiscent of Nellie Lutcher, Julia Lee and Hadda Brooks led to two critically-acclaimed albums for ABC-Paramount, 1957s 'Martha Davis & Spouse' & 1958s 'A Tribute To Fats Waller' which are now available on CD for the very first time.