back to top


Format: CD
Rel. Date: 04/16/2021
UPC: 604988317220

Juke Joint Jump: Whole Lotta Drinkin On The Block
Artist: Juke Joint Jump: Whole Lotta Drinkin On The Block
Format: CD


1. Baby Boy Warren - Hello Stranger
2. Sammy Myers - My Love Is Here To Stay
3. Papa Lightfoot - Wild Fire
4. Pee Wee Hughes - Country Boy Blues
5. Eddie Hope - A Fool No More
6. Lee Brown - Round The World Boogie
7. Charlie Booker - Walked All Night Take 2
8. Little Al - Easy Ridin' Buggy
9. Sleepy John Estes - Running Around
10. Charley Bradix - Boogie Like You Wanna
11. King Charles - Bop Cat Stomp
12. Ernest Lewis - Loudella
13. Pinetop Slim - Applejack Boogie
14. Alfred Wallace (The Fat Man) - Glad, I Don'T Worry No More
15. Johnny Beck - You Gotta Lay Down Mama
16. John Lee - Blind'S Blues
17. Tony Hollins - Crawlin' King Snake
18. Earl Hooker - Alley Corn
19. Woodrow Adams - The Last Time
20. Eddie Taylor - I'M Gonna Love You
21. Boy Green - Play My Juke Box
22. Wright Holmes - Good Road Blues
23. Jimmy Rogers/Little Walter - Little Store Blues Take 2
24. Left Hand Charlie - Whole Lot Of Drinkin On The Block
25. Ole Sonny Boy - You Better Change
26. Little Sam Davis - 1958 Blues
27. Alex Moore - Lillie Mae Boogie
28. Schoolboy Cleve - She'S Gone
29. Big Joe Williams - Ride My New Car With Me
30. Big Chenier - Let Me Hold Your Hand

More Info:

Here are thirty slices of hot, rocking blues recorded and performed for just one purpose - dancing, getting down and having a real good time. This music was made for jukeboxes and specifically for jukeboxes in African American areas of the United States be they rural or urban.

The music on this collection and its companion 'Juke Joint Jump - 'Boogie Like You Wanna' (JASMCD3173) was recorded between 1944 and 1960.

The urban juke joints or 'clubs' especially those in Chicago, were very influential in the rise of R&B across America during the 1950s and most of the big stars of blues performed regularly in these clubs and this is the era in which most of the music on these two volumes emanated.

JUKE JOINT JUMP: WHOLE LOTTA DRINKIN ON THE BLOCK - 30 Slices of Rockin', Boppin', Boogie and Blues