Format: CD
Label: Parnassus
Rel. Date: 08/10/2021
UPC: 5055354409066

Sibelius Violin Concerto Suk 4 Pieces & Encores
Format: CD


1. Sibelius: Violin Concerto in D minor Op. 47
2. Josef Suk: Four Pieces. Op. 17
3. Ravel: Tzigane
4. Ravel: Pièce en Forme de Habanera
5. Dinicu Arr. Heifetz: Hora Staccato
6. Gluck: Mélodie/Danse (Orefeo Ed Euridice)
7. Scarlatescu: Bagatelle
8. Paradies Arr. Dushkin: Sicilienne
9. De Falla Arr. Kriesler: Danse Espagnole

More Info:

"around the head of Neveu is no gentle halo, but a flame of fire" (Gramophone)... "She was an incomparably promising young violinist. She won the inaugural Henryk Wieniawski International Competition in 1935, beating David Oistrakh; she was 15, he was 27. Perhaps her best-known recording is the Sibelius Concerto... Her unique quality was the intense and passionate beauty of her playing, an incandescent · and fiercely primitive passion that seemed always on the verge of breaking all restraint, yet just controlled by powerful will and intellect... As she played she crouched over her fiddle like a tense panther about to spring and she produced sound pulsed with unspeakable intensities... as one who was privileged to know her, I feel that the suggestive power of her personality comes most strongly from the Ravel Tzigane and the Sibelius Concerto." (Walter Legge / EMI)