back to top


Format: CD
Label: SYNX
Rel. Date: 03/26/2021
UPC: 194398240220

Artist: Rebirth / Various
Format: CD


1. Queste lagrime e sospiri - ALESSANDRO STRADELLA 1639-1682
2. O rosetta, che rosetta SV 237 (instrumental) from Scherzi musicali - CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI 1567-1643
3. E te pur vero . Luci mie, voi che miraste - Aria of Adelanta from Xerse - FRANCESCO CAVALLI 1602-1676
4. The Silver Swan ORLANDO GIBBONS 1583-1625
5. Voglio di vita uscir SV 337 CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI 1567-1643
6. S'apre la tomba
7. Ojos, pues me desdeñáis JOSÉ MARIN 1618/19-1699
8. Y a tus plantas Nisea - Aria of Minerva from El Prometeo - LEONARDO GARCIA ALARCON *1976
9. Pasaje del olvido (instrumental) - SIMON DIAZ 1928-2014
10. Zableyalo mi agance - BULGARIAN FOLK-SONG
11. L'Egisto: Sinfonia della notte (instrumental) - FRANCESCO CAVALLI
12. Oblivion soave - Aria of Arnalta from L'incoronazione di Poppea SV 308 - CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI
13. L'Eraclito amoroso from Cantate, ariette e duetti op. 2 - BARBARA STROZZI 1619-1677
14. Tarantela española (instrumental) SANTIAGO DE MURCIA c.1682-c.1740 DIEGO FERNANDEZ DE HUETE c.1635-c.1713
15. Hear me, O God Adapted from Pavan on Four Notes ALFONSO FERRABOSCO II c.1575-1628
16. Come again, sweet love doth now invite JOHN DOWLAND 1563-1626
17. No hay que decirle el primor TOMAS DE TORREJON Y VELAZCO 1644-1728
18. Like an Angel Passing Through My Room ABBA(BENNY ANDERSSON / BJÖRN ULVAEUS)

More Info:

The lockdown of Spring 2020 allowed Sonya Yoncheva and conductor Leonardo García Alarcón to make the album they had been considering for ten years. Rebirth is a message of hope but also the exploration of an idea: that silence and inactivity are the best prelude to creative renewal. Yoncheva's fourth solo album for Sony Classical includes music spanning more than five centuries, from folksong to pop, via some of the most powerful moments in seventeenth-century opera. All the music, in Yoncheva's view, is contemporary. 'Certain styles of musical composition have remained surprisingly close to us through 500 years of history, combining enormous emotional thrust with great simplicity,' she says. From the dawn of opera and music by Monteverdi, the album plots a thematic journey from the Italy of Cavalli, his pupil Strozzi and heir Stradella to the England of Dowland, Gibbons and Ferrabosco - whose motet Hear me, O God employs the same four-note theme as ABBA's Like an Angel Passing Through My Room. After dance-inspired works from Spain and Latin America, and Alarcón's reconstruction of an aria by Antonio Draghi, Yoncheva offers a traditional folksong from her Bulgarian homeland. Media were full of praise after Sonya Yoncheva performed her album repertoire at the Salzburg Festival after the lockdown in August 2020. 'Music that moves you to tears' wrote the APA and the FAZ raved about her Bulgarian folksong 'Zableinano mi agunce' being "an unforgettable emotional experience." Rebirth was recorded in the concert hall of La Chaux-de-Fonds, with Alarcón and his ensemble Cappella Mediterranea, during the first European lockdown. The feeling of the acoustic, Alarcón says, was equivalent to 'playing inside a vast lute.'