back to top


Format: Vinyl
Label: WCL
Rel. Date: 04/09/2021
UPC: 190295082772

Astor Piazzolla: Libertango
Artist: Martha Argerich / Capucon,Gautier
Format: Vinyl


1. Le Grand Tango
2. Oblivión (Transcr. Hubert for 2 Pianos) [Live]
3. María de Buenos Aires, Scene 5: Fuga y misterio
4. History of the Tango: I. Bordel 1900
5. Estaciones Porteñas: No. 3, Primavera Porteña (Arr. Assad for Guitar)
6. Adiós Nonino (Arr. Medaglia ; Hammon for Cellos)
7. Concierto del Angel: II. Milonga del Angel
8. Estaciones Porteñas: No. 2, Otoño Porteño
9. Chinchin 1
10. Libertango

More Info:

Vinyl LP pressing. In the 1950s, when Astor Piazzolla went to Paris to study classical composition, the tango of his native Argentina was not considered fit for the concert stages of Europe; these were the sultry sounds of the street; the music of the demimonde. Luckily, the formidable composition teacher Nadia Boulanger encouraged her Argentinian pupil to draw precisely on those roots. Piazzolla at last found his true voice as a composer and bandoneon virtuoso. Today, he is considered the father of tango as we know it today, blending rhythmic vitality with orchestral textures. This LP compilation confirms that the founder of Tango Nuevo left as his legacy a unique style of music that sounds just as fresh and vibrant today.